What could I do with the human body: Preparing to cast figures.

Jane Alexander (animal heads on human forms)  and Nandipha Mntambo (hides)

As I think about casting the female torso, I have started to pay more attention to artists who use anthropomorphic forms to express themselves. Both Alexander and Mntambo are South African artists who use such forms in different ways. Both of them incorporate animal products or features in their sculptures. They remind me that good sculpture seldom has to look like classical Roman statues. They also challenge me to think of different ways of exhibiting the work.

I am asking myself, should the sculptures be on the ground? floating in the air? attached to the wall?

Leave a Reply

