It's Hair! Not Hair!

– close up of my friend’s mouths/hair, and they are all saying the word, “Hair” (I will have about 10 different accents and subtitles )…eg, Maureen from Kenya

-Then I will record myself saying, “When I was in 3rd grade, my teachers  name was Mrs Fogarty. Mrs Fogarty once made Fadzai cry. Mrs Fogarty told Fadzai, “It’s not he-h, its hair!” and Fadzai repeated, “He-h!” She couldn’t say the way Mrs Fogarty said it, and Mrs Fogarty made her start crying.( a video of a little girl sitting in class?)

-close up of my friend’s mouths/hair, and they are all saying the word, “Hair” (I will have about 10 different accents and subtitles )…eg, Maureen from Kenya

Okay, so I have audio recordings of different people saying the word hair in different ways.  I am now thinking of having more narration and less imagery. Just footage of me playing with my hair, and footage of a ladies legs talking down to a 3rd grader.

The narration:

“When I was in grade three, my teachers name was  Mrs Fogarty.  She had lots of rings on her fingers. she had a big wart on her nose. Mrs Fogarty once made  my friend Fadzai cry. Mrs Fogarty told Fadzai, “It’s not pronounced he-h, its hair!” and Fadzai repeated, “He-h!” She couldn’t say it the way Mrs Fogarty said it, and Mrs Fogarty said, “It is not pronounced he-h its hair!”  This made Fadzai start to cry.

I don’t think its fe-eh….sorry…I don’t think it’s faair that indigenous accents and culture and even hair are considered lesser than European culture…..”

One thought on “It's Hair! Not Hair!

  1. hierarchies of language and class.
    you could have a bunch of different people say “hair” and classify them:

    A: He-h,
    B: hayer

Leave a Reply

