Mary Reid Kelley

Mary Reid Kelley is an artist who visited St. Lawrence this week to talk about her work. She is a multifaceted artist who is best known for her video work. Through her video work, she manipulates language and draws from European culture during WWI. Her main goal is to create work about the memories that were not recorded in their entirety, which I think is great.

I heard most of her lecture and then had the pleasure of having lunch with her and showing her some of my works yesterday. She was so nice and helpful in trying to help me articulate my ideas. It was important for me to talk to her because we deal with similar themes in our work. I look at the Chimurenga War or Independence, and she looks at WWI. She makes a statement about the forgotten prostitutes of that era, and I am trying to make a statement about my father’s memories about this time period.

Besides advice about waiting to go to grad schools, some of things that I took away from our conversation was that it is possible to get one’s concept and style in many different types of media. I don’t have to change my process simply¬†because I am working in stone instead of paint. Mary’s feedback was very constructive. She suggested that I look at the work of Toni Ourseir and Wangechi Mutu.

After my conversation with her, Amy suggested that I also look at Hannah Wilke.

Leave a Reply

