Family Interviews: Sekuru Nyamunda

Sekuru Nyamunda was such a pleasure to interview. He got so excited about it and he took it so seriously. Boy can he talk, I think his interview was close to 50mins, and I only got three questions in. Thankfully, his is a video recording.

Sekuru Nyamunda is a dear relative. He has been so close to my father since before I was born. When the economy was better and my father was working , and Sekuru’s mother was still alive, him and my dad would take 8hr trips to their rural home almost every two weeks in Chipinge. They kept each other company and talked about anything and everything. They both drank the same beer, they both spoke deep chindau and both laughed about the same things.  As I little girl I would beg my dad to let me go with him to see Sekuru’s children my cousins whom I loved dearly. Sekuru lived (and still lives ) in Highfields Harare.  He is a high school geography  teacher. Highfields is large township which was originally built for factory workers who worked in the industries at the edges of Harare. To this day, the houses are minutely and the area is a high density area.

After 1990, my family lived in middle class suburbia in Harare. Eastlea, like many other suburbs, is a place where the privileged grow roses in the front and maize in the back yard. Here the dogs run freely on the trimmed lawns and the kids spend hours riding their bikes and climbing trees  all within the safety and privacy of their homes.  Despite growing up in this spacious environment, I absolutely loved going to Highfields with my dad on the weekends. My cousins and I were friends with all of the children on the narrow, potholed streets. I loved the cheap freezits we were given as treats, and I really enjoyed the hard $1 for two lemon creams that were sold by the street vendors or in the numerous tuck shops.

In my late teen years, I stopped visiting Highfields as much as before, but still hold my family there very near my heart.  It breaks my heart to know that in my entire 22 years of existence Sekuru standard of living has not improved. He has been teaching and empowering the youth in his area for over 30 years and still cannot afford to buy his own car. 😦   If anything, his standard of living has become worse. Especially since public school teachers are only earning $300 a month. Thankfully, he is blessed with 3 beautiful grandchildren and lives close to his children- this is priceless.

I will soon be uploading the edited video for the blog. Right now it’s way to big.

The new things that I learnt through the interview are so many. I wrote notes during the interview. They are mostly to do with culture and how his generation was the one with the biggest challenge. They saw western British culture clash with traditional African culture and they had to make sense of it.

More to come.

Leave a Reply

