I have moved onto WOOD.

A few weeks ago, I stopped carving clay and I moved onto wood. So far so good. I have learnt how to carve general broad shapes and now I am moving onto smaller chisels. It’s really exciting but tough. It takes such a long time before you can step back and feel like you have made progress. I am hoping to start working on a large painting at the same time soon. So far, all I have is the ground, I need to sit down and think about what I am trying to express and how best to do that.

Currently, my biggest inspiration for my wood carving is El Anatsui. We have had indepth discussions, presentations and thought papers about his work in my West African Art class. His work is amazing. Last weekend I cut up some planks of wood and I will try to create my own wooden wall panel. If possible I will even use a fire tool like he does.  At some point, I would like to use he wood shavings with gesso to create interesting textures.

Leave a Reply

